The 5 languages of love

Here’s how to love your dearests they way the need it. Marriage counsellor and author Gary Chapman believes that not everyone wants to be loved and appreciated in the same way. According to him, for people to feel loved, you have to show them love in a way they will understand or appreciate the most.
He explores the concept in his book 5 Love Languages.

Take a look at the five ‘love languages’:

  1. Words of Affirmation

Means you would use words to acknowledge or make your loved one feel special. This can be paying them compliments or speaking out about your meaningful observations of them. For example “You look so good in that dress!”, or “You always make me laugh”.

  1. Quality time

In these times of social media and other distractions, quality time has never been more important. Spending quality time with your loved one, without distractions could be you putting away your phone, switching off the TV or radio and having a conversation with your loved one. Bedtime stories or singing nursery rhymes could be one way of having quality time with your little one.

  1. Receiving gifts

Gifts don’t always have to cost a lot of money, sometimes their favourite snack like a chocolate will do! Writing your loved one a note to tell them something sweet, is another simple way of giving a gift.

  1. Acts of service

Acts of service means physically doing things for your loved ones to help them. This could be cooking a special meal that you know they will love, or helping them with their tasks, like if they are washing dishes, help them wipe and pack them away.

  1. Physical touch

For many, to feel the touch of someone they love reaffirms that love. Hugs, kisses, holding hands or even sitting close to each other are just some ways to show love.


Image: Gallo Images/Alamy